SKKS XVI: 1560

When he was considerably over eighty, he was commanded to compose a hundred poem sequence, so he composed this and presented it.


shime okite
ima ya to omou
aki yama no
yomogi ga moto ni
matsumushi no naku
‘Tis there I’ll rest–
And wonder if now is the time–
In the Autumn mountains
Beneath the mugwort
Await the chirping pine-crickets.

Master of the Dowager Empress’ Household Office Toshinari

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *